Monday 11 November 2013 

Club Awards Honorary Life Membership to former Committee Member Ian Metcalfe

Ian Metcalfe, who retired from the Club's General Committee earlier this year

Warwickshire CCC has awarded an Honorary Life Membership to its former Deputy Chairman and Committee Member Ian Metcalfe.

Ian was elected to Warwickshire’s General Committee in March 1992 and served an active role until retiring ahead of the AGM in February this year. He was Deputy Chairman between 2003 and 2008 and was Chairman of the Club’s Catering Committee ahead of the joint-venture being developed with Compass in 2011.

Norman Gascoigne, Chairman of Warwickshire CCC, said: “Ian has been a great servant to Warwickshire and an active Committee Member, who’s experience in business has played a key role in the Club’s success.

“His Honorary Life Membership is certainly well deserved and we look forward to seeing him back at Edgbaston on many occasions in the future.”

As well as currently being Managing Partner of national law firm Wragge & Co, Ian captained Moseley RFC from 1985 to 1987 and won two Blues for Cambridge in 1978 and 1979. He was an unused replacement for England against New Zealand at Twickenham in 1979 and he played three times for England in New Zealand on their 1985 tour without winning a cap.

He subsequently joined the RFU board in 2008 and became Chairman of its Professional Game board in 2011. He is also on the ER 2015 board of the delivery body for the 2015 Rugby World Cup and is a committee member of the Barbarians.

Commenting on his award, Ian said: “I am thrilled and deeply honoured to be made a HLM of this wonderful club, and to join a list of the Club`s greats. It was a privilege to serve Warwickshire CCC and I will always look back on my time on the Committee with great fondness.”

Sign Up To Our Newsletter 300 x 50 (2)