Wednesday 14 August 2013 

When Edgbaston First Hosted Finals Day

Leicestershire Foxes triumph in the first Finals Day at Edgbaston
Kent get home by four wickets in 2007

This Saturday’s Friends Life t20 Finals Day will be the 11th since the competition was devised in 2003, and the fifth to be staged at Edgbaston after our previous staging in 2004, 2007, 2009 and 2011.

We look back at the 2004 and 2007 Finals below.


The second year of Twenty20 cricket in the UK reached its climax at Edgbaston on Saturday 7th August, with Glamorgan, Lancashire, Leicestershire and the 2003 champions Surrey all in the running for the coveted prize.

A thrilling first semi-final set the day up perfectly with Surrey defeating a Lancashire team, including Flintoff, Cork, Hooper and Anderson, by just one run.

A brutal 72 off 39 balls from Darren Maddy helped with Leicestershire Foxes to 165 for 5 in the second semi-final, which proved too much for Glamorgan who fell short by 21 runs despite the best efforts of former Bear David Hemp, who scored 44 off 31 balls.

The Final saw Surrey win the toss and elect to bat first. After the early wicket of James Benning, Ally Brown and Scott Newman added 80 for the second wicket to help Surrey to 168 for 6 off their 20 overs; Brown top scoring with 64 off 41 balls.

Australian overseas player, Brad Hodge proved the linchpin of the Leicestershire innings, building a partnership of 62 with Maddy, 52 with Stevens and an unbeaten 47 with Snape, which helped the Foxes home to a seven wicket victory with five balls of the last ball to spare. Man of the Match Hodge finished unbeaten on 77 not out off 53 balls.


A crowd of just under 20,000 packed out Edgbaston on a glorious sunny day in 2007, with another strong Lancashire team, including Flintoff, Anderson, Muralitharan and the 2009 Man of the Match Hodge, defeated by Gloucestershire Gladiators, who chased down Lancastrians total of 148 in just 16.5 with eight wickets remaining.

South East Coast rivals Sussex and Kent met in the second semi-final, with the former posting 140 from their 20, partly limited by Sri Lankan paceman Lasith Malinga who took 3-31. Skipper Rob Key led the Kent charge with 68 off 54 balls as the Spitfires got home by five wickets with five balls to spare.

Kent chose to field first in the Final, with Yasir Arafat removing Gloucestershire’s dangerous Craig Spearman early, for just two. After slumping to 62 for 4, Gloucestershire fought back with a partnership of 47 between Hamish Marshall and Alex Gidman, before a hat trick from South African seamer Ryan McLaren turned the game on its head.

Chasing down the West Country men’s total of 146, a flurry of boundaries from Carl Greenidge got Kent off to the perfect start until captain Key fell for 18. Matt Walker’s 45 off 35 proved crucial to the Spitfires’ innings as he built a partnership of 46 with Joe Denly. Thirty not out off 21 balls from all-rounder Darren Stevens secured a first Finals Day victory for Kent with four wickets and three balls to spare.


A small number of tickets for Friends Life t20 Finals Day on Saturday 17th August remain available following a return from the four semi-finalists. Simply click here or call the 24-hour Ticket Hotline on 0844 847 1902 to purchase.

Sign Up To Our Newsletter 300 x 50 (2)