Monday 29 April 2013 

England Name Woakes, Wright and Chopra in Lions Team to face New Zealand


The England selectors today announced that Yorkshire batsman Joe Root will captain the England Lions team - which includes Chris Woakes, Chris Wright and Varun Chopra - to face New Zealand in a four-day game starting on 9th May at Grace Road, Leicester.

England’s limited overs coach Ashley Giles will also coach the side which includes a number of players who have represented England at a senior level across different formats. Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ravi Bopara, Michael Carberry, Graham Onions and Nottinghamshire batsman James Taylor have already received England Test caps. All members of the squad have previously played for England Lions.

National selector Geoff Miller said: “With a busy summer of Test cricket ahead, this fixture against New Zealand is an excellent opportunity for our players to show us that they are capable of representing England in the longer format of the game.

“Joe Root will lead the side in order to assist his development as a cricketer and provide him with valuable experience of captaincy against quality opposition. “

Managing Director of England Cricket, Hugh Morris added: “Our new limited overs Head Coach Ashley Giles will be part of the Lions Management team for this fixture and this will enable Ashley to closely monitor the performances of players who are competing for places in our T20 and ODI sides as well as the Test team.”


England Lions Team:

  • Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
  • Ravi Bopara (Essex)
  • Michael Carberry (Hampshire)
  • Varun Chopra (Warwickshire)
  • Simon Kerrigan (Lancashire)
  • Graham Onions (Durham)
  • Toby Roland-Jones (Middlesex)
  • Joe Root (Yorkshire) – Captain
  • James Taylor (Nottinghamshire)
  • Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)
  • Chris Wright (Warwickshire)


Sign Up To Our Newsletter 300 x 50 (2)