Thursday 4 April 2013 

Six Bears in England's Provisional 30-man Squad for ICC Champions Trophy


The England selectors today named Warwickshire's Ian Bell, Jonathan Trott, Chris Woakes, Rikki Clarke, Chris Wright and Varun Chopra in a provisional 30-man squad for the ICC Champions Trophy to be played in England and Wales in June.

National Selector Geoff Miller said: “This is a balanced squad which will provide the selectors with strong options in all areas and reflects players’ performances for both the senior England teams and the England Lions and EPP squads over the winter period.

“With this country hosting the tournament for the first time since 2004, there will be every incentive for England to perform well and we anticipate intense competition for places in our final squad which will be named early next month.”


England’s ICC Champions Trophy provisional 30-man squad:

  1. Alastair Cook (captain), Essex
  2. James Anderson, Lancashire
  3. Gary Ballance, Yorkshire
  4. Jonny Bairstow, Yorkshire
  5. Ian Bell, Warwickshire
  6. Ravi Bopara, Essex
  7. Tim Bresnan, Yorkshire
  8. Danny Briggs, Hampshire
  9. Stuart Broad, Nottinghamshire
  10. Jos Buttler, Somerset
  11. Varun Chopra, Warwickshire
  12. Rikki Clarke, Warwickshire
  13. Jade Dernbach, Surrey
  14. Steven Finn, Middlesex
  15. Alex Hales, Nottinghamshire
  16. James Harris, Middlesex
  17. Craig Kieswetter, Somerset
  18. Stuart Meaker, Surrey
  19. Eoin Morgan, Middlesex
  20. Graham Onions, Durham
  21. Samit Patel, Nottinghamshire
  22. Kevin Pietersen, Surrey
  23. Joe Root, Yorkshire
  24. Graeme Swann, Nottinghamshire
  25. James Taylor, Nottinghamshire
  26. James Tredwell, Kent
  27. Jonathan Trott, Warwickshire
  28. Chris Wright, Warwickshire
  29. Luke Wright, Sussex
  30. Chris Woakes, Warwickshire
Sign Up To Our Newsletter 300 x 50 (2)