Friday 1 March 2013 

Warwickshire CCC AGM 2013


Warwickshire Chairman Norman Gascoigne looked forward to an exciting period in the Club’s history at the recent Annual General Meeting, after presenting the new 2013-2016 Strategic Plan to Members.

After paying tribute to the Warwickshire team’s LV= County Championship success in 2012, the Chairman outlined the Club’s mission to be ‘the best cricket business in the world’ by talking through its strategic objectives for the next four years across the areas of customers, community, commercial, people, venue and of course cricket.

The Lord Bishop of Birmingham Rt Revd David Urquhart chaired the meeting, which began with trophies being presented to the top performing batsman, bowler and all-rounder in Warwickshire’s senior team, along with Warwickshire Cricket Board’s Youth Awards. Additionally, the Club presented Amy Jones with a special award in recognition of becoming the first Warwickshire cricketer to play for the England Women’s team.

Club Treasurer Steven Mills presented the Annual Report for the year 1st October 2011 to 30th September 2012, which was approved by Members. The following officers were also re-elected to their positions:

  1. President:                           The Rt Hon. Earl of Aylesford
  2. Auditor:                               Ernst & Young
  3. Committee Members:         Jamie McDowall, Jeremy Payne, Malcolm Willcox

The Chairman also paid tribute to former Committee Members Ian Metcalfe and Gladstone Small who have both stood down from their positions. Mr Metcalfe’s decision to stand down facilitates the reduction in the size of the General Committee from 20 to 16 by 2015, as agreed at the 2012 AGM.

The General Committee will consider the vacancy left by Mr Small when it meets in March. Should an individual be appointed they will be required to retire at the 2014 AGM, but may stand for election in the usual manner.

Club Captain Jim Troughton and new Director of Cricket Dougie Brown also addressed Members as they looked forward to the pre-season tour of Barbados, in the coming days before, beginning their defence of the LV County= Championship against Derbyshire at Edgbaston on Wednesday 10th April.




Warwickshire CCC Special Award          Amy Jones (First Warwickshire Women’s Team Cricketer to Play for England)


Main Award Winners

First Team Batting Award                       Varun Chopra

First Team Bowling Award                     Chris Wright

First Team All Rounder Award               Chris Woakes

Peter Cranmer Award (Most Improved Second XI Player)   Tom Milnes

Tiger Smith Memorial Award (Most Promising Young Cricketer) Jack Grundy

Coney Edmonds Trophy (Under 19s Award)  Mark Best

Cyril Goodway Trophy (WCB’s U19s & 17s Award)  Mark Best

Graham Williamson Memorial Award (Under 15s Award              Jim Clifford


Warwickshire Cricket Board Youth Awards – in recognition for consistently high performances

U17 Girls

Marie Kelly – Delphine Row Award winning as most promising & deserving cricketer

Rachael Howells

U15 Girls

Amy Weir

Helena Meads

Louise Brazier

Rebecca Brazier

Miriam Heritage

Neha Chauhan

Katie Stanislas

U13 Girls

Georgia Davis

Tiarna Gilkes

U11 Girls

Grace Ballinger

Isabelle Wong


U19 Boys

Tom Burton

Basit Zaman

Matthew Briggs

U17 Boys

Peter McKay

Lee Thomason

Mohammed Adil Sajid

Lewis Peacock

U16 Boys

Matthew Lamb

Jake Salmon

Brinder Phagura

Daniel Brosnan

U15 Boys

Akbar Ahmed

Aaron Thomason – Delphine Row Award winning as most promising & deserving cricketer

Robbie Povey

U14 Boys

Arjun Bath

Rahul Trivedi

Chris Camwell & Under 13s Award

U13 Boys

Mohammed Ahmed

Tom Banton

U12 Boys

William Rigg

Masharraf Shazad

U11 Boys

Ethan Brookes

Daniel Mousley

Jacques Banton

Sahal Malvernkar

U10 Boys

Awais Mohammed

Charlie Grice

Sign Up To Our Newsletter 300 x 50 (2)