Friday 21 September 2012 

Bears players the toast of the PCA Team of the Year


Five Warwickshire players were named in the ‘Team of the Year’ at last night’s Professional Cricketers' Association end-of-season awards in Battersea.

After being crowned the 2012 LV County Champions in the penultimate match of season at Worcester, Varun Chopra, Ian Bell, Jeetan Patel, Keith Barker, Chris Wright were all named in the Team of the Year for their outstanding season.

The evening also saw Ian Bell collect the FTI Most Valuable England Player award, announced earlier this week, whilst fast bowler Chris Wright was narrowly pipped to the Player’s Player of the Year Award by Somerset batsman Nick Compton.


Reg Hayter Cup for the NatWest PCA Player of the Year: Nick Compton (Somerset)

John Arlott Cup for the NatWest PCA Young Player of the Year: Joe Root (Yorkshire)

ECB Special Award: Bill Gordon

England FTI MVP of the Summer: Ian Bell

Friends Life t20 Player of the Year: Dimitri Mascarenhas (Hampshire)

Clydesdale Bank 40 Player of the Year: Phil Mustard (Durham)

NatWest ODI Player of the Summer: Alastair Cook

Investec Test Player of the Summer: Stuart Broad

Sky Sports Sixes League Winner: Gary Ballance (Yorkshire)

FTI Team of the Year: Varun Chopra (Warwickshire), Chris Nash (Sussex), Ian Bell (Warwickshire & England), Steven Croft (Lancashire), Darren Stevens (Kent), Peter Trego (Somerset), Phil Mustard (Durham), Jeetan Patel (Warwickshire), Keith Barker (Warwickshire), Chris Wright (Warwickshire), Graham Onions (Durham)

Sign Up To Our Newsletter 300 x 50 (2)